2003 – Rob Sheldon

The Ohio High School Basketball Coaches Association is proud to announce that Rob Sheldon of Wynford High School, is the recipient of the 2003 Paul Walker Award. The Paul Walker Award is presented annually by the OHSBCA to an active coaching member of the association who has made significant contributions to high school basketball. The award is named in the honor of the late Paul Walker, the longtime coach of Middletown High School. He had the most wins as boys basketball coach in Ohio High School Basketball History with 695.

Rob Sheldon is a 1969 graduate of Elyria High School, and received his Bachelor of Arts Degree from Bluffton College in 1973. He and his wife, Brenda have six sons and reside in Bucyrus, Ohio.

Rob began his coaching career at North Central High School in Pioneer, Ohio, and served as head coach there from 1975-79 accumulating 49 wins and 39 losses. While at North Central his team claimed a District Championship. He then moved on to Bucyrus Wynford High School where he has served as Head Basketball Coach, Assistant Principal, and Athletic Director from 1979-2003. While at Wynford his teams have comprised a record of 398-155 giving him a 28-year total of 447 victories against only 194 losses. Since being at Wynford, the Royals have claimed 16 Sectional titles, 6 District crowns, and 2 Regional Championships. His 1987 squad finished as Division III State Runner-Up, and his 1989 team advanced to the Final Four. Two other seasons (1988 and 2001) his teams advanced to the Regional Finals.

Rob has several coaching honors including: 1983 Mansfield News Journal Coach of the Year, District 6 Coach of the Year (1987, 1989, 2001, 2002), and Division II State Coach of the Year in 1987. Rob is a former District 6 Director to the OHSBCA, and was selected to coach in the Ohio North-South All-Star Game (1988), the Ohio-Michigan All-Star Game (1989), and the Wendy’s 4-State Classic Game (1996).

Rob has always been very active in the Ohio High School Basketball Coaches Association, and served as President of the Association from 1995-96. He is an excellent person and coach who is very deserving of this most distinguished honor.